CV vs. Resume

Hi guys, hoping to get some advice and insight here.  I have a Bachelor's + a few years of work experience, now applying to PhD programs.

I've noticed that schools ask for CVs/Resumes.  Two questions here:

1) How are regular job application resumes different from PhD application CVs/resumes?  Do I need to keep with the 1 page rule?

2) What is the level of detail/depth that needs go into CVs/resumes for PhD applications?

3) Are CVs recommended or resumes?  Granted, I don't have enough publications etc. to write a CV... but still wondering.

Apologies in advance if this has been discussed in an earlier thread.  Thanks!

1) Google is your friend here. A resume focuses on your work experience. A CV focuses on your research experience. That's a coarse summary but really, there's lots of info both here and on the internet about the differences between a CV and resume. If you are confused about the format, look up the CVs of grad students and faculty in your field. You'll notice that most are more than 1 pg. That said, many applicants don't have CVs of over a page simply because they don't have lots of publications or presentations to include.

2) What do you mean by level of depth? My CV offers very little description of any of the projects I've worked on because the outcomes for most are evident from publications/presentations. I don't list job duties underneath positions like "Graduate Teaching Assistant" or "Research Assistant", if that's what you're asking. Though my sense from TakeruK and Eigen is that this is different in the sciences than it is in the social sciences.

3) CVs are the convention for academics. Again, google. There's a bunch of advice about what a CV should look like when you're applying to grad school and don't have a bunch of publications, for example.