Advice for those applying straight from BA?

Hello! 

I've noticed that many of those applying to PhD programs are currently in masters study, and in some ways, this seems to give them a leg up in the application process. I'm wondering if anyone has any advice for those who are applying straight to the PhD from a Bachelor's. I graduated in 2015, and am hoping to start a program in Fall 2016 (so I will have had one year off). Are admissions committees interested in what you've done in a year off? If so, what are they looking for? Any other advice for someone applying right after undergrad? Thanks!

I don't have any specific advice about the year-off question, unfortunately--I went straight from undergrad to my program without a gap year. But I know there are a ton of people in my cohort who didn't get Master's degrees but who took time off--some of them were doing related things (teaching, working at academic presses), some not; my guess is committees only care about what you've done in your year off if it has a substantive relationship to your application as a whole.

So, that's not helpful, really. But since no one else has, I also wanted to jump in and address the strain of uncertainty in your post, and the broader issue of whether or not you'll be at a disadvantage (or whether or not people with MAs have a "leg up") applying to programs straight from your BA. A bunch of disclaimers are necessary here: this is very field dependent (MA are expected in rhet/comp), and varies by school--the incoming PhD classes at my undergrad institution had a much higher proportion of entering students w/ MAs (at least in the cohorts I'm familiar with) than those at my current grad institution, and there are all kinds of stereotypes about different kinds of institutions preferring either students with or students without MAs.