Help advise a newbie? Global Health

Chopin

If you're reading-- thanks for reading! I'm an undergrad close to competing my bachelor's degree in Public Health. Due to very robust student involvement, research experience, a decent GPA (3.61), good GRE scores (163 quant, 165 verbal) and relevant work experience (health policy think tank) I'm hoping to be competitive for most public health programs. 

2 big questions for the group: 

1. I'm really interested, career-wise, in global public health, or in population health/development in low-resource areas abroad. Ideally, I'd like to pursue an MPH (in what exactly? not sure… see title) in a program with a strong program in global health. Where are the "best" places to do this, in your opinion? Factors that shape "best," in my opinion: 

• Relevance to global public health specifically
  • Likelihood of obtaining funding
  • Professional/academic respectability

2. Would you recommend obtaining additional work experience, before applying for grad school? That was my original plan, but I'm starting to wonder if I can find fulfilling work with just a bachelor's degree, to the point that it'd merit putting grad school off. 

Any advice is SO appreciated. Thank you!

Hi Chopin, I suspect you haven't gotten any replies because you asked two incredibly vague questions. 

1) Honestly, if you want to know the best places to do a MPH, just google for a list of programs. Best of course depends on how you value program ranking, cost, and internship opportunities, so you may want to find a ranking that puts those in the same order as you do personally. You should have a reason for applying to certain programs beyond just ranking and cost though, which will require you to do research on programs and departments to see what meets your needs, desires, and requirements.