totally crushed lit major - good enough for Riverside?

Killy Jelly

Well, I'd been studying for the GRE for about two months, nailed all 400 vocabulary (committed to memory!) and got a math tutor... was taking the Princeton practice tests and getting decent-ish scores (650 V 510 Q), knowing that most english programs don't care about the math score.

Then I took my test today... and when I saw my score on the screen I almost started crying.

410 Q, 510 V. I think I did well on the essay because I'm a pretty good writer but who knows how they test those things.

The computer hardly gave me ANY of the words I worked so hard to memorize. I bombed hard and I feel like a failure.

With applications for the English graduate program at Riverside due Dec. 1st (and I was told by the department that I should aim for Nov. 1) I am completely terrified.

For those of you who know anything about Riverside, do you think I still have a chance if I apply with my current scores? I already had the scores sent to the college. I have a 3.6 GPA and lots of decent essays and good letters of rec, but will this low GRE score kill me?

Should I retake it next month and try to squeeze it in before the deadline? If so, I'm considering taking the paper test instead. Is the paper test easier?

Thanks...