Any [future] German PhD students out there?

MsCastorp

Hello everyone!

I will applying to PhD programs in German literature in the US this coming fall--is anyone else doing the same? I'm currently getting my Masters degree in Germany as a DAAD-Stipendiatin in Komparatistik (comp lit) and am looking forward to the specialization of the PhD and my return to the American educational system. :)

For others who are applying or who are already studying--what programs are you looking at or where are you now? If anyone has suggestions for programs with a strong emphasis on 20th AND 21st century literature, I would love to hear them...

Hey! I'm also applying for Fall 2016 German PhD programs. I wish you the best!

I'm currently an undergrad getting my degree in German and Letters at the University of Oklahoma. I'll be applying  to study specifically the Frankfurt School and associated thinkers, the aesthetic environment they were in, and how their methods of critique function.

My plan is to apply at U Chicago (looks like my dreamboat), Northwestern, UDub Seattle, U Indiana Bloomington, Princeton, Harvard, and Cornell. Sadly, I didn't look for literature specialities as much as critical theory, so I don't know about that...

Also, want to critique each other's applications, SOPs, etc? My profs will be helping me but outside advice would be great too :)

Last thing: were you on a DAAD grant last year? If so, did you attend the North American conference in Köln or the humanities conference in Jena? I was in Leipzig for a year on the DAAD undergraduate grant and wonder if we crossed paths.

• 2 months later...

Hey! I thought I signed up to get notifications of responses, but apparently not. Fail. 

It's super late, but thanks for your response! How is the application process going thus far?

U Chicago was on my list for a long time, but I eventually decided against them because the program looked too theoretical for my interests. :) Good luck!!!