Any research-oriented Master's program?

DevelPsych

Hi!

I'm a Chinese undergrad interested in cognitive development, especially causal reasoning, computational models, et cetera. GPA is high(around 3.9/4.0), TOEFL is great(111/120), GRE is a little higher than average(155+170+4.0), had some lab experiences(3 independent studies, none related to current interests; worked in 3 labs, 2 of them are way too brief), served as TA, really interested in professors' work, no paper, conference or talk.

Judging from my capability at this moment, I don't think I can be admitted to a great Ph.D. What I plan is to get into a research-oriented Master's program first and then apply for a Ph.D. program with experiences I gain, people I meet and papers published.

However, it seems there're not too many such programs in (non applied )developmental psychology. The only ones I know is the 2-year M.A. program in Boston College and MPhil programs in the British Commonwealth. I was wondering whether there are Master's programs with identical training as the first two years of doctoral students in the States.

Thanks a lot and your timely reply is very much appreciated!

Unfortunately, there just aren't very many (reputable) terminal master's in Clinical Psychology because, well, you can't really do anything with a masters in Clinical Psych. You're not licensable, you can't work independently.... 

Why are you interested in a terminal masters?

Unfortunately, there just aren't very many (reputable) terminal master's in Clinical Psychology because, well, you can't really do anything with a masters in Clinical Psych. You're not licensable, you can't work independently.... 

Why are you interested in a terminal masters?