MS in Biostatistics or Biomedical/Health Informatics?

elsewhere123

Hey guys,

I am a recent college grad with a major in Neuroscience and I am hoping to apply for a master's in either biostatistics or biomedical informatics.

A little bit about me:

1) I've held a bunch of different research positions since high school, and from my experience, academic research is a lonely and often very frustrating land. I'm a fairly outgoing person and I love collaborative projects, which is why I also haven't ruled out getting an MBA at some point down the line. But I like the idea of being the scientist/programmer that works with the MBA types, rather than the MBA type myself, because I am nerdy and generally just like the science of it a lot more.

2) My background is mostly in history/neuroscience, but I have taken some stats (standard probability and theoretical inference sequence) and know R. I am less comfortable with non-R computer programming, but am able and willing to learn. I am currently working in a biomedical informatics lab at Harvard, and I LOVED the stats courses that I took in undergrad!

3) I generally like practical applications more than theory and abstraction. My worst nightmare would be to get stuck in a highly theoretical program filled with uninterested professors who would rather focus on their own research than mentor grad students (especially masters), and to be taking a heavy theoretical course load without a sense of the "why" behind it all. As in, how will I be able to use this course to build a better product for an exciting new company, or to help solve a global health challenge?

4) I like to see direct results. After graduation my ideal job would be at a startup like those in the Rock Health fund, or Flatiron Health or another upcoming digital health company. I think this stuff is awesome.