Advice on Grad School/program Choices

TruFranco

Hello all. Long time lurker, first time poster. So I hope this is the right place for this.

First some background, My undergraduate degree is in French with International Studies/Linguistics minors. I've been teaching English in China for a couple years now and have become quite proficient with the language. While I would love to get into top level programs around the country and work on Chinese/American relations, I'm a realist and know that I don't have the undergraduate grades/connections/proper background for such things and I'm perfectly alright with that. However, during my undergraduate senior year I had a pretty life changing 7 month experience helping Congolese refugees coming into my town. We helped them with everything they needed: applying for services, interpretation, how to recognize and properly handle blatant racism from coworkers, etc. You name it, we were there. Teaching abroad is great, but it's really not the career that's for me and based off my aforementioned experience I would like to get into NGO/INGO work. It's really the only thing I've done that left me with a feeling like I was really making a difference. Money isn't incredibly important to me. As long as I have an apartment and decent air conditioning, I'm content.