GRE test

UmmF

Hi everyone,  I'm new here and I could really use some advice.

I studied for the GRE for about 6 months and all I came out with is 141 and 144 which are very depressing scores. I want to apply to Ph.D Pharmacology and these scores are not up to the minimum scores. I want retake the test first week in January (that's like 2months of studing) so, I could use some advice and guidelines to improve my score drastically. Thanks y'all.

Well, if you've been studying for 6 months and still receiving scores in that range would suggest to me that you're not studying correctly or in a way that is effective for you. Would it be possible for you to take a prep class? I know a lot of people on here look down upon them but honestly, I took one this summer and I managed to raise my scores considerably compared to when I was studying on my own. 

Hi UmmF,

I'd like to know more about your studies so far and your deadlines:

1) You say that you studied for 6 months, but what was your 'routine?' How many hours did you study during a typical week? Did you have a consistent schedule or did you just study when you had the time?

2) What practice resources did you use?

3) What are the application deadlines for the Programs that you're considering?

Thankfully, the GRE is a predictable, standardized Test, so you CAN train to score at a higher level.

GRE Masters aren't born, they're made,

Rich

Thank you so much for your replies. 

To answer your questions;

I would agree that I probably was not studying the right way because the score I had was very much lower compared to what I always had after every practice. 

I would definitely love to attend a prep class but I don't have much cash. I'm sure it would be expensive but if you could suggest anyone in Chicago,  I can check it out to see if it would be possible.