Low grade in statistics class

Clinpsyc01

I'm a fourth year undergrad thinking of applying to grad school next year. I had intended on applying this year, but I have a pretty big problem with my application. I absolutely bombed my advanced statistics class. By this, I don't mean that I got a B or something- I passed, but I legitimately did very, very poorly in the course. I don't know what happened since I got A's in my other research methods and stats classes. The semester in question was rough overall for a number of reasons, but nothing that I could cite as a legit reason for my performance. I don't think my grade in the class was an accurate representation of my ability, but there's nothing I can do about that. 

Anyway, I'm not looking to make excuses for my grade. I just want to know if there's any way to salvage my situation. My GPA is still around 3.75, and I'm retaking the stats course now and will most likely get an A this time. Should I try to take some more math/stats courses next year and do well in them? I can add a statistics minor if I take three more classes. Would this help prove that I'm not actually an idiot when it comes to statistical analysis? I can't take my department's graduate statistics courses because space is very limited. Would a really high quant score on the GRE help? 

I want to apply to clinical, which is why I'm panicking about this. I know that this was probably the most important course in my degree. Is there anything I can do? Or will this be a huge red flag on my application no matter what I do to fix it? I'm starting to think I should just apply to medical school instead, even though I'd really prefer not to. 

I wouldn't give up on your dream just because of one class did not go the way you thought it would. This one class cannot define you. Yes, I would say a good GRE quant score would do you some good.