Interpretation of GRE scores of Intl. students

Lise

I'm a Belgian student and I'm applying for a MA/PhD in Comparative Literature. I have taken the GRE and TOEFL and now I'm wondering if anybody of you knows how graduate schools treat GRE scores of non-native speakers.

My scores are: TOEFL iBT 109

GRE V 540/ Q 530/ A 4.5

I do realise that my GRE score is average (according to the ETS statistics, the score is the average for a student pursuing literature grad study) but I can't help but thinking that it would be quite unfair to treat my score the same as that of a native speaker.

Any thoughts on this matter?

I'm a Belgian student and I'm applying for a MA/PhD in Comparative Literature. I have taken the GRE and TOEFL and now I'm wondering if anybody of you knows how graduate schools treat GRE scores of non-native speakers.

My scores are: TOEFL iBT 109

GRE V 540/ Q 530/ A 4.5

I do realise that my GRE score is average (according to the ETS statistics, the score is the average for a student pursuing literature grad study) but I can't help but thinking that it would be quite unfair to treat my score the same as that of a native speaker.

Any thoughts on this matter?

Hi Lise,

I am an international student as well. I spent a lot of time worrying about the gre's. I am still trying to figure out how they are going to factor in to my application.

While I was initially quite bitter about the non-native speaker disadvantage, especially in the verbal section, I have come to rationalize it. I believe that it is not unreasonable of a university to expect their international students to get a score quite as good as the domestic students. After all, being a doctoral student in the US, you will mainly compete with domestic students. Especially in your discipline it is essential to prove that you are equally comfortable with English as your native speaking classmates.