Revising a Paper for Conference/Publication

I recently had a seminar paper accepted to a conference based on a 250-word abstract. I'm now working on revising the full paper so that it's more suited to be delivered as a conference presentation. Additionally, I'm hoping to revise my undergraduate thesis over Christmas break so that I can submit it to a journal. As a first-year grad student, it's my first time attempting either of these things, so I wanted to ask if those with more experience have any advice. Beyond the list of specific requirements given on conference/journal submissions pages, what should I keep in mind as I revise seminar papers so that they better adhere to conference/journal conventions?

I am guessing based on your interests that you are in a Literature program. I have a feeling that standards for conference presentations vary sufficiently across our fields that I should not attempt to give advice on this one. The only thing I will say is to make sure you give at least one practice talk before the actual talk.