Security Studies Chances?

coolclouds

Hello all,

I recently stumbled upon this forum and I am hoping you can offer me some advice about security studies programs in the US and my chances of admission for fall 2010.

I went to a large 50,000+ student state school in the big ten where I graduated from the psychology dept with a B.A.

I then moved abroad to teach English in Turkey.

Now I am interning at the Dept. of State.

Gpa: 3.4

GRE: to be taken later this month.

I am also fluent in a critical language and will have excellent LORs.

What are my chances at top security studies prgrams and what kind of GRE scores should I aim for?

Thanks!

So far, it sounds great -- decent GPA, good overseas experience, now working for State. Perhaps a few more clarifying details would help:

• When did you finish undergrad?
  • How long were you in Turkey?
  • What are your responsibilities at State currently?
  • Most importantly, what is it you want to do? What aspect of security studies interests you most? How do your experiences fit into your broader career goals, and how will grad school advance those ambitions?

I think if you can start generating the answers to these questions, often achieved through extensive introspection, you'll be able to present yourself as an even stronger candidate. Also, as you move through the application process, feel free to leverage this forum to bounce ideas off the community as you prepare your personal statement, which should thoroughly address the final question above.

Good luck!

So far, it sounds great -- decent GPA, good overseas experience, now working for State. Perhaps a few more clarifying details would help:

• When did you finish undergrad?
  • How long were you in Turkey?
  • What are your responsibilities at State currently?