Rate my chances - MPA/MPP - 2010

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum. Would be great to get a feedback on how best I fit a policy program in top schools, how can I best position myself as a strong candidate and how to build up on my SOP. Thanks in advance!

I am applying for MPA/MPP Fall 2010.

Targeting : KSG,Princeton, Berkeley, SIPA, Tufts, Georgetown, SAIS

GRE Score :- V : 680, Q : 700

I have done my undergrad from JNU-India (2005). GPA - 3.08. The best place for social sciences and humanities in India.I majored in Korean Language and also took some courses on Political Science, Philosophy and English Literature. Post this, I did my 2 year masters in Communications Management. GPA -3.12 .I took classes on micro and macro economics here and an elementary course in Statistics. I have approx. 1.5 years (to date) of work experience with India's leading newspaper in a marketing management capacity.

I am interested in public policy to steer my career into a public sphere and specialize in International Relations. I intend to work in the diplomacy domain post graduation.

Please rate my chances and any tips on SOP, reco, policy memo (WWS,KSG) will be really really helpful.

Edited by MPAIndia2010

Nehru University is a fantastic school and I'm sure your experience there was excellent. Your statistics and experience are equally impressive; however, your career ambitions seem vague. Could you provide more clarification on what your long-term objectives are, and how your graduate education will further them?

Also -- MPA and MPP degrees vary considerably, and those are often quite different from MAIR / MALD / MSFS programs. Because your experience has varied considerably, a little more focus would be of tremendous help, both to us and to yourself.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi MPA India - Im looking at similar courses to yours.

My GRE Verbal was 710 and Quant at 790.