GRE study material (which one do you recommend?)

WinnerWinner

Hi,

So, I will start my GRE journey in perhaps a month and will take the test in September/October  2016.  I will appy for a programme that more or less only look at the quant score, and the avarage was 160 this year. To be honest, I am not good at math, so therefore I will try putting in around 6 months of study focused on this area. 

I have 2 questions:

1. Which one of these providers would you recommend for the main source of learning:  Greenlight test prep guide or  Magoosh 6 month beginner math plan? Complimented with books suggested by these providers.

2. Is my aim score of 160 quant a realistic aim for 6 months - with solid study and motivation? Even for a guy whos bad at math since like forever. Im really interested to know this.

I really appreciate any help with this, I am very keen on getting that quant score for the masters programme!

Thank you

Hi Winner,

1. I personally used the following:

--Magoosh

--Official practice books and practice tests written by ETS

--Khan Academy

--Manhattan 5 lb Book

2. Scoring a 160 is totally doable. I am not someone who is naturally gifted at math, but I was able to score a 168 with about 5 weeks of review despite making a few careless mistakes on the test. To do well on the exam, it's critical that you practice answering as many questions as possible under timed conditions. When I started practicing, it usually took me 3-4 minutes to solve the most difficult problems. After doing a few hundred practice problems, I was able to solve almost all of them in under 90 seconds. Learning how to do speedy mental math will pay dividends.