US Citizen Considering Applying to Canadian School?

Hi, everyone! I'm a sophomore from Pennsylvania and I'm hoping to get into a doctoral-stream Master's program in math. Of course, I'll definitely apply to US schools, but I would prefer a Canadian school because I want to move to Canada. 

How hard is it for an international student to get into a Canadian school (especially the University of Toronto)? 

I have a 3.55 GPA (3.67 in my major), I did a little research this past semester, I applied for an RA position (although I will most likely get rejected), and I'm hoping to get into an REU (a summer research program) this summer. 

I know my GPA is really bad, but is there anything I can do to improve my chances? Thank you in advance!

I'm not familiar with the math department at UofT, but I can say that overall, there are a lot of international students doing graduate work at UofT.

The things you can do to improve your chances are the same as for U.S. universities:  have an excellent letter of intent, outstanding reference letters, and research experience.  I would make sure you have all of the suggested prerequisites listed on the UofT web site: http://www.math.toronto.edu/graduate/admissions/Suggested%20Prerequisites.pdf

There are other excellent Canadian universities.  I would suggest seeing which ones are doing research that interests you, and see what their requirements are.  Some Canadian master's programs will only look at your two more recent years of coursework, so you'll want to get marks that are as high as possible in those two years / 4 semesters.

1 hour ago, PoliticalOrder said:

Academic masters programs aren't really that competitive in Canada. 

That doesn't mean you will get in, but it is fairly easy to get accepted to masters programs even in the top Canadian universities.