MA in IR for average students

boblong

I am an average student. I dont have a super high GRE score or awesome work experience. But I still want to get a MA in IR. That being said, what are some programs that I should be looking at that I have a chance to be accepted in? Everyone talks about Harvard and Princeton which I have no chance at and I was wanting to know some good schools that are less competitive to get in to.

My stats are:

3.7 GPA in criminal justice at a state school

470 v 670 q

8 month internship with a big city police department under the human trafficking unit

experience in 2 campaigns

Teachers assistant for a japanese elementary school during the weekends

Lots of extracurriculars including president for an honor society.

once again, I don't think I'm competitive enough to be applying to the top schools, which schools should I be looking at that I have a chance in?

Don't sell yourself short.

Why do you want to study international relations? With the exception of your GRE scores, I think your stats are good enough that any adcomm would take a decent look at you. If you can set yourself apart with a solid statement of purpose, I don't see why you should settle with middle-of-the-road graduate schools.

What are you specific interests in regard to international relations? There may be some schools that are considered "average" but have excellent faculty in a particular area.

Do you have any experience abroad, and if so, in what capacity?

As for your GRE scores, do you think that they can be improved on if you spend a few months studying? If you feel that your scores may be significantly improved by taking the test again, I would highly, highly recommend doing so. Even if you didn't raise your Q score at all, raising your verbal score by a hundred (I know it sounds far-fetched, but it is certainly possible) would give your portfolio some added strength.