Any current UPenn or Rutgers Ph.D. students out there?

Hi all, I submitted all my applications a few weeks ago, and now I am playing the waiting game. Although I am confident in my knowledge of the application process, I would really love some feedback from actual cohort members at UPenn or Rutgers. 

Currently, I live in NYC, and, upon admission  (hope hope), I will be commuting to campus. Does anyone else do this? Anyone particularly interested in 20th century American or Latin@ literature/ affect theory?

Any advice or comments are appreciated. I'd love to fillabout two months with conversation to avoid waiting and freaking out (also, when do you remember getting your acceptances?)

Hey Lauren! I'm currently a Rutgers PhD student and also live in NYC. I'm not sure which borough you're in, but I'm coming from Staten Island and know people who commute from the other boroughs as well. If you're coming from Brooklyn/Manhattan it seems like it's about 1 1/2 hours, from Queens it's a little more. I drive from SI so it takes about an hour. Commuting is definitely doable, although they do ask for you to establish residency within a year (or provide a good reason why this would be unfeasible).

In terms of your interests, there are a lot of modernists at Rutgers. I'm not sure of how many that study Latin@ literature, but I do know there are some affect people.

They notified me in the middle of February by phone call, but honestly I don't know if that's typical or not. All I can suggest is to try and do anything to take your mind off of things because the waiting will drive you crazy!

Best of luck! Let me know if there's anything else I can help with.