Moving Away from Campus, into the City

slx

I'm a UMD grad student who is living close to the campus, but I'm considering moving to Washington DC.

I'm feeling pretty isolated here, there's nothing to do and while DC is not too far away, you don't really get to make use of what DC has to offer if you're not really living there. While as a grad student I'm be pretty busy, I don't want to live as if I'm in a solitary cell for the next 5-6 years. As a gay male in his mid-twenties, I feel I'm wasting a good opportunity by not living in a city like DC. 

I don't mind commuting to campus (right now I take the UMD shuttle), the only thing I'm worried slightly about are the costs. For those who know the area - is DC doable (with roommates) on a monthly budget  of $1300-1400?

Has anyone done this or something similar to this - moved away from campus, instead of moving closer to the campus? I'd be glad to hear any advice anyone can give.

I'm posting this as a new thread instead of posting it in the "DC & Suburbs" thread because I'd like to hear from anyone who's been in a similar situation.

• 1 month later...

I'm a UMD grad student who is living close to the campus, but I'm considering moving to Washington DC.

I'm feeling pretty isolated here, there's nothing to do and while DC is not too far away, you don't really get to make use of what DC has to offer if you're not really living there. While as a grad student I'm be pretty busy, I don't want to live as if I'm in a solitary cell for the next 5-6 years. As a gay male in his mid-twenties, I feel I'm wasting a good opportunity by not living in a city like DC. 

I don't mind commuting to campus (right now I take the UMD shuttle), the only thing I'm worried slightly about are the costs. For those who know the area - is DC doable (with roommates) on a monthly budget  of $1300-1400?