LoR

Jen3225

Hi!

I'm wondering how people generally handle letter of recommendation. Do the recommenders sent them directly to the school? I know for medical school admissions there are websites that the letters are uploaded to and then they can be distributed to schools.

Additionally, I graduated in 2007, so I have been out of school for a few years. I will have my current functional manager and a professor that I did research for write letters. I'm not too sure who I can have as a third one. I have a professor that I had a few different classes with, so he would be a bit more familiar with my work, but there is no guarantee that he remembers me at this point. Or I could have a project manager from work that I have worked with frequently over the past few years. It is more current, but he obviously does not know my academic abilities. Are academic references better than industry ones if the school does not specify? Does anyone have experience asking current managers for LoR? It's a bit awkward since applications are due in January but I wouldn't want to leave my job until August.

Thanks!

Jen

Read the instructions on how to submit letters of rec. Some schools require you send them -online sime by snail mail. read the applcationc arefully to find out and follow the instructions.

Have academics write the letters for you unless your employee etc. is highly related to your field in which you plan to pursue your degree.If you do this, don't be afraid to ask an employer. They should be happy you want to pursue highe ed. There a re a lot of people who need jobs now so it wouldn't be a problem for them to find someone to take your place.

Send your recommenders some reminders (like a paper you wrote for a class). See them in person or talk to them on the phone. Aske them "Do you think you'd be able to write a letter in ym favor..." and, "what do you think you'd be able to say?". Send them an updated CV.

Best of luck.