MS ECE Fall 2010

romanov12

Hi,

Im in my final year of Electronics and Communication Engineering from IIIT, Hyderabad, India(Ranked 6th in the country for engineering).

My stats are as follows:-

GPA: 8.6/10 (rank 5 out of 40)

GRE: quant=800, verbal=750

TOEFL: 117/120

Dept Applying to: Electrical and Computer Engineering

Field of Interest: Computer Hardware, Digital Design, FPGAs

Research: 2-3 major projects in my field of interest. One research paper submitted for review at GLSVLSI '09

Work Experience: Summer internship for a R&D firm in hardware design.

Extra-curricular: Student Parliament member, Member of univ soccer team, Head of outreach and sponsorship teams for college events

I will be applying for an MS to the following colleges:

1.Stanford or UC Berkeley or UIUC

2.Texas A &M

3. U Texas at Austin

4. North Carolina State University or U Minnesota, Twin Cities

5.Penn State University

6. Oregon State University

7. University of Toronto

I am aiming of not so costly colleges, so aid would be welcome. Could anyone please advise me on these colleges? I am bothered that I am aiming too low.

Thanks!

you listed some of the top programs in the United States, it's pretty hard to aim higher.

you definitely have a good shot at those programs, have you looked at Purdue, Georgia Tech, MIT, Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan, CalTech or Cornell?

you listed some of the top programs in the United States, it's pretty hard to aim higher.

you definitely have a good shot at those programs, have you looked at Purdue, Georgia Tech, MIT, Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan, CalTech or Cornell?

Oh..Thanks for your reply. Yes, I did consider the programs that you have mentioned, but you see cost of attendance is an important factor for me. So , GaTech, MIT , Wisc-Mad, CalTech and Cornell all go out of contention.

Do help me choose among the ORs (Stanford or UC Berkeley or UIUC) and ( North Carolina State University or U Minnesota, Twin Cities or Univ of McGill)

Hi,