Offered a project

zbfox999

Hi all,

I am now a master student and have applied for 4 PhD programs and only 1 professor contacted me by now and it is quiet for the other 3.

After several emails, he offered me a project, involving new concepts, 2 new programming languages (My familiar one is prohibited in this case), collecting data and creating a model to simulate a targeted activity. He gave me 8 weeks and advised me to work over 20 hours a week and report to him regularly which he marked "mandatory".

This mail made me upset. I really do not know whether some other guys have faced the same situations before. I really do not know what to do next. My opinion is, I would not want to work for this professor. Also, this university is not my first choice. However, considering no news coming from other programs and the sacrifice I will make to conduct this project, I feel sick. What is more, given that I took this work, it still does not mean I would be definitely admitted in the future.

Could some one give me some advice? Thanks very much.

This sounds like an absolutely ridiculous request. I personally would follow through with it, and would instead as the department head (if he isn't that person) if this is expected of applicants/are professors allowed to do this to applicants. I agree with you in that I wouldn't want to work with this professor. If the website stated that ALL applicants would be given a project as part of admissions, that would be different, but this project seems like a huge burden (at least 20 hours a week????). I understand the pressure you're feeling since this is the only program that you've heard from, but I don't think it would be worth it or that you would be happy in short and long term if you worked with this professor.

Have you responded to his request?