Switched a Major before classes start?

HistoricScout

Question

Hi all. I'm new here. I'm waiting to hear on an a decision from IUPUI on their museum studies program. Anyway, I originally have my BA from Purdue (Boiler Up!) and I applied to IUPUI for museum studies in hopes of maybe becoming a museum curator. I've been volunteering at the Benjamin Harrison Home since 2012 in Indianapolis and I've had an intern with the curator learning curating practices. But there is still a part of me that wants to become a historian. My focus was the civil war and the western theater while at Purdue. 

My question is that if I am accepted into IUPUI's museum studies program is it possible to switch majors before classes start and not lose time? I would want to switch into Public History with a Museum Studies certificate track as public history is actually a decent route to take if you are considering a historian route. (I.e: you can still do a thesis and still get historian training without a traditional history MA).

Would it be frowned on switching majors if I am accepted? Or is it rather common?

4 answers to this question

I'm not sure how IUPUI handle's admissions, but a quick google leads me to believe these are two separate programs. Most graduate programs decide independently of each other, so I'd think it rather unlikely that you could switch programs.

You could always ask, but I'd be doubtful.