Boston College MA

I had applied to PhD but just received an email saying I've been accepted into BC's MA program with partial funding. Although I don't know whether it's something I could manage financially, I'm excited by the acceptance and wondering if there's anyone here who's done the program and would be willing to share their opinions. Is it a large program? I see that some of the MAs work as tutors and could potentially be teaching assistants their second year--how common is this? Does BC have a good history of helping MA students get into PhD programs? Answers to these questions or any other information you'd be willing to share would be very much appreciated! Thanks so much!

I'm a current student in the Boston College MA Program and am happy to answer any questions! Feel free to PM me as well! I love the program and am very glad that I chose it.

There's about 24 students per MA cohort, so it's a fairly large program. BC is excellent about giving lots of support/attention to their Masters students, and it's a very collegial department. Most people in my cohort are either writing tutors (with the writing centre, ELL students, or student athletes) or writing fellows (where you are partnered with a specific undergraduate class to help them develop their writing over the course of the year). A good number also have other assistantships in various centres around campus. (Here are some listings, to give you an idea.)