Columbia vs Johns Hopkins vs Yale- MPH

Cecilia Chen

Hi all!!

It's kind of flattered to be in such dilemma but it's REALLY hard to make a decision upon these admits.

I am an international student major in bioengineering, will graduate in June, got no working experience, and heading to the US for my graduate degree.

I'm not really sure what job that I exactly want after graduation, but I think it would be in a healthcare setting. Maybe something like healthcare consulting, management consulting, or managerial work in NGOs.

And I really fancy of working in foundations, like Gate foundations, to do some work that can help the improvement of health around the globe (and that's why I choose public health). I know that it would really hard to be in a management level, so I want to get some experiences in consulting firms, or other NGOs, NPOs, then move to a foundation to work with other social sectors.

The following are my admission results. Actually I also got UCLA and Umich, but I guess the private universities would be more likely match my career interests.

Columbia - Epidemiology with Global Health Certificate, MPH

pros: flexible curriculum, a 6-month practicum in global health related settings, and it's NEW YORK!!! 

cons: expensive cost in manhattan, quite large size of class, and the course may not be so technical, just general introduction

Johns Hopkins - Global Disease Epidemiology and Control, MSPH

pros: course is skill-orientated, a lot of epi and biostat, Top1 Public Health School, might get half discount on the second year tuition fee

cons: tight curriculum schedule, the school is more like an med institution rather than a uni, and it's Baltimore (kind of afraid abt the place)

Yale - Chronic Disease Epidemiology, MPH

pros: flexible curriculum, yale alumni (quite same as Columbia)

cons: don't know much about New Haven, live in a cold small town for two years

btw, all three uni, No fundings :(