Change of doctoral programs as an international student

Hi all,

I am an international student currently studying on a doctoral program in the northeast with a F-1 visa. I have been accepted to another doctoral program in the west. I want to know if any of you has transferred doctoral programs as international students, and how the visa process looked like for you. I know that my SEVIS needs to be transferred from one university to the other one. I was also told that if I leave the country I need to apply for another visa to get back to the US, which would mean to pay for another SEVIS. Though this maybe an annoyance, my main issue with doing this lies elsewhere. I need to present at a conference in early August, and my new doctoral program starts in late September. If I leave the country, and I apply and get a new F-1 visa, I won't be able to return to the US until one month before the start of my program, meaning late August, which would in turn make me miss the conference. Is there any way to keep my current visa, go back to my country, and return to the US without any issues? If not, is there anyway to get back to the US with my new F-1 visa, earlier than one month before the beginning of my program in late September, so I can present at the conference I mentioned?