Reason for leaving the previous grad position

virtua

Hello forum,

So I have been a PhD student for 2 academic terms and then my adviser terminated my position. The reason? The last thing my adviser told me was "I don`t feel your interest in the project". Anyway, some time later I asked my adviser to provide me with an official letter as a proof of termination of my position. I needed that letter to get released from my apartment leasing contract. And you know what she wrote in that letter? She wrote that the position was terminated due to insufficient funding! Surely, I`m happy that she did not blame it on me in that letter, but! Now, I`m going to apply to several universities and I am thinking what I should say when I`m asked why my adviser stopped working with me. Should I say exactly the same thing that was written in that official letter (I have scan of it so far but I`m trying to get the letter itself asap) or I should say that I was not interested in the project? Or maybe even something different?

I really need as many opinions on this as it is possible, since I don`t want my chances to get admitted to be affected by this story. I appreciate any thoughts.