Reading recommendations?

harrar

As a teacher who just started summer break, I'm trying to form a reading list for the next few months. While I love light fiction reads, I'm also looking for something heavy that can teach me a lot. I'll be applying to applied linguistics and TESOL programs soon, so I'm hoping to find something that makes me think differently about these topics than I have before. I'm also interested in anything with a flair of interculturalism to it, fiction or nonfiction, especially involving refugee stories (I'm a volunteer ESL teacher currently and I'm always trying to learn more about my students' backgrounds).

What are the essential books that a linguist should read? 

On June 10, 2016 at 9:50 AM, harrar said:

As a teacher who just started summer break, I'm trying to form a reading list for the next few months. While I love light fiction reads, I'm also looking for something heavy that can teach me a lot. I'll be applying to applied linguistics and TESOL programs soon, so I'm hoping to find something that makes me think differently about these topics than I have before. I'm also interested in anything with a flair of interculturalism to it, fiction or nonfiction, especially involving refugee stories (I'm a volunteer ESL teacher currently and I'm always trying to learn more about my students' backgrounds).

What are the essential books that a linguist should read? 

Here is one for semantics: Semantics in Generative Grammar by Heim and Kratzer (1998). 

China Miéville, Embassytown

I did not like the ending—so feel free to come back and yell about it with me—but it is a stunningly original piece of science fiction that takes language as its central conceit. I would look for something to compare it to, but I don't know of anything that would work. I'm not sure what the actual linguists think of it, but I know a linguistic anthropologist who likes it.

Junot Diaz, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao