2016 Graduate Applicatons

kkaon1

Hi, I was inspired by reading last year's grad app posts that I thought I would start one for this year~

I was a linguistics undergrad major and in my senior year I applied to PhD programs in linguistics. At the time, I wasn't ready for a PhD program; I took two years off after college to improve my Chinese skills but also get real world experience. I am in the process of looking into Masters linguistics programs. The linguistics department in my undergrad was very small and it was a mix of linguistic anthropology and east Asian linguistics. Even though I spent my time working abroad teaching, I was more interested in how English is used outside of the classroom and how the community embraces English.

I want to pursue the PhD but I also want a stronger linguistics background. So I want to get a Masters and then decide where to go from there. I looked into applying to Masters programs that will fund me. I prefer to stay in the US, specifically NYC but funding is limited in Masters programs. Most of the funded programs in the US I found focused on Applied linguistics. So I started looking at schools in NYC and some schools in Hong Kong. I also would prefer to do a 1 year masters program but those seem very rare. I appear to have a lot of caveats but I trying to narrow the pool down. I don't want to apply to many schools. Do any of you who are in graduate school have recommendations for sociolinguistic programs? 

My choices as of right now are: University of Pittsburgh, York University, National Tsinghua University (Taiwan), and the CUNY Graduate Center.

On average how many programs do people apply for within linguistics? How many schools should I be aiming for?

On June 23, 2016 at 11:28 PM, kkaon1 said:

I took two years off after college to improve my Chinese skills but also get real world experience