As a foreign student, should I opt out of a pension plan?

I am a new graduate student (PhD, international), and I have the option of opting out of a pension plan. I have no intention of remaining in the US beyond my graduation (in about 5 years). Are there any benefits of paying into the plan? All thoughts/opinions welcome.

Edited by juanmesh

What are the details of the pension plan?  Is it a matched contribution from your school, or just an automatic deduction from your paycheck?  Are there any restrictions re: you accessing it from your home country/ and or hidden conversion fees (I doubt there are, but good to check)?  If it's matched, and you don't desperately need the savings, there's no harm in staying in.  If it's not matched, an option is to use the equivalent amount that would be invested and invest on your own.

If you're only contributing for 5 years this might not make much of a difference, but it's generally considered a good idea to diversify assets- the american dollar is strong (though who knows how true that'll be once it comes time for you to access the plan) and it doesn't hurt to have capital in different markets in case one economy tanks.

NOTE: there's no need to answer any of the questions I've asked you.  Also, i'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so it might be a good idea to talk to a financial planner and/or someone with a license to actually give advice.  

Also prefacing this all with the fact that I'm not an expert, but just that I faced similar decisions myself.