Where to improve my application

Legend111

Hello all,

Last application cycle I applied to three MS programs in I/O psychology and was waitlisted in one, accepted in another (without funding), and out-right rejected by the other.  Outside of taking and studying for the gre, I was able to gather my application materials in a matter of three weeks (mostly due to a last minute decision of applying).  I ended up accepting the offer from the program that accepted me, but now I likely going to withdraw my acceptance because I cannot see myself leaving everything behind and moving to the area where the school is located.  I want to avoid relocating and want to aim for a school that is a little more competitive.

To give a little background, I have been working full-time for the past four years since I graduated in 2012 in sales, recruiting, and HR type roles.  My undergrad GPA was 3.7 and my gre scores were: 152 v, 155 q, 5.0 awa.  I had one year of serving in a research lab during my time as an undergrad (from 2011-2012).   I received two letters from professors and one from my current supervisor in the last application cycle.

Aside from scoring higher on the gre (which I plan on re-taking), how else can I improve my application?  I am fortunate enough to be located near a major public university with multiple research labs -- would volunteering as an RA be beneficial for my application?  Perhaps I can get a more recent academic letter this way as I have been out of school for over 4 years at this point. 

Any ideas would greatly be appreciated!

Edited by Legend111