What would you do? GRE question

peppermint.beatnik

I have been thinking about this question since mid-November.

I wrote the GREs at the beginning of October. I spent 2 months of solid prep, including an on-line "Live" course with Kaplan, in August, that was immensely helpful.

I scored 620v, 610q, 6.0AW. I have bad anxiety/OC issues, so needless to say I was ecstatic with these scores. Also, Canadians are not really socialized to standardized testing, so it's not like I have a lot of GRE-related experience.

I was SO relieved all of this GRE anxiety was over. Then I met with a potential supervisor in mid-November. She brought up the GRE before I mentioned it. She discussed the GRE in relation to admission committee decisions. She told me that GRE is used at [school], first as a cut-off [i.e. won't look at apps below 500 in any section] and then as a tertiary measure. For example, if you have 3-4 candidates that are the same on A,B, and C, they will look at D, which is GRE. She went on to describe how the GREs are pretty much "an industry," like "how many words can you memorize." Needless to say, she doesn't put much weight in GRE, other than as an application requirement.

She said that no matter how badly she wants a student [and it appears that she wants me] it has to be a committee decision. If your GRE scores are really good, it makes it easier for the faculty member to get you as a student.

Relieved that my scores were way above the cut-off, I told her what they were. She still suggested I re-write the GRE. I was totally crushed--I would rather swim across the Atlantic.

If I am going to re-write them, I need to do so by mid-January. The application deadline is January 1st, but she said the committee doesn't meet until February.

I have pretty much decided I won't re-write them: way too much stress; I'm not sure I could do better with less prep time; I still have 2 applications to submit.