Rutgers Ed.D

supertrout89

Hello,

I am currently a third year undergraduate at the University of Scranton pursuing a B.S. in Elementary Education & Special Education as well as an M.S. in English as a Second Language, both of which should be earned in the Spring of 2012. I am beginning to think about my future options and am strongly considering an Ed.D. I wanted to start this thread just to see if I could be a good candidate for that type of program. Here is a quick summary:

• Currently have an undergraduate GPA of 3.79. I'm hoping to graduate summa cum laude (3.85).
  • Undergraduate Honors Program, will be completing a thesis in Spring 2011 on "Integrating Physical Education into the Middle School Curriculum."
  • Member of the Kappa Delta Pi National Honor Society in Education.
  • One published research article, a second article soon to be sent out, and possibly a third to be sent out by the end of the 2009-2010 academic year. Articles span a variety of topics from transition services for students with autism to gifted reading education to Response to Intervention.
    My goal is to apply to an Ed.D program with a focus in elementary education or special education. Rutgers University offers just that. So, my questions are:
    • What does anybody know about the Ed.D program at Rutgers?
    • With my program and achievements, is it worth the investment of time and money to pursue an Ed.D.?

Hello,

I am currently a third year undergraduate at the University of Scranton pursuing a B.S. in Elementary Education & Special Education as well as an M.S. in English as a Second Language, both of which should be earned in the Spring of 2012. I am beginning to think about my future options and am strongly considering an Ed.D. I wanted to start this thread just to see if I could be a good candidate for that type of program. Here is a quick summary:

• Currently have an undergraduate GPA of 3.79. I'm hoping to graduate summa cum laude (3.85).