Is study abroad as an undergrad vital?

bguis

I'm considering applying for PhD <and possibly MA programs> next Fall.  Unfortunately, as a non-traditional student I was unable to spend any time abroad during undergrad.  I'm looking at focusing on Early Modern Germany, but am reading articles saying that grad schools often won't even consider students who haven't had their "feet on the soil" in the country they want to research.  In your experience, is this accurate?

1 hour ago, bguis said:

I'm considering applying for PhD <and possibly MA programs> next Fall.  Unfortunately, as a non-traditional student I was unable to spend any time abroad during undergrad.  I'm looking at focusing on Early Modern Germany, but am reading articles saying that grad schools often won't even consider students who haven't had their "feet on the soil" in the country they want to research.  In your experience, is this accurate?

That sounds pretty odd to me...

I'm not sure if many, let alone a majority, of the students in the program I'm in have ever studied abroad pre-graduate school, and we're arguably one of the strongest early modern science programs in the US.

Granted, this is within a history of science department, and my experience is only anecdotal, but requiring experience studying abroad still seems odd.

Not at all.  it is helpful to have spent time in the country for the sake of immersing in the local culture, history, and language. For Europeanists, as far as I'm aware, it's not vital since Europe is relatively easy to integrate and assimilate in the languages.  If your POI gives a shit about the length of time you spent in Germany, s/he is ridiculous and classist.

(Asia... it's a different story because studying the languages requires so much more effort that it's helpful to spend time in China/Japan/Korea.)