NYU Data Science PhD--Do I have a chance?

Hi all,

It's been five years since I finished my MS and I want to go back to school for my doctorate. When I heard about NYU's Center for Data Science, it quickly became my first choice. However, it seems like just the MS is extremely difficult to get into. So I'm wondering if I even have a chance ...

Anyway, here's the info:

• Experience: 5 years as a data scientist. Past work involves data visualization, machine learning, applied statistics, data management/engineering, data cleaning, parameter optimization/operations research
  • Publications: None (unless internal work stuff counts) :(
  • Education:
    • BS Mathematics, well-known top-tier private school, pretty shitty GPA of 3.2,
    • MS Mathematics, virtually unknown school in the middle of nowhere, GPA 4.0, tuition and living expenses paid for by a data science research company I was interning for (not the same company I started working for after I graduated however)
  • GRE: 
    • 164 V
    • 170 Q
    • 5 W
  • Other programs I'm applying to in addition to the one at NYU (roughly in order of preference):
    • CU Boulder, Computer Science
    • Cornell, Information Science
    • UMD, Information Systems
    • UNC, Statistics and Operations Research
    • Rutgers, Statistics
    • WPI, Data Science

Thanks!

• 1 month later...

For the love of God, no! Just no! 

NYU is a diploma mill. They just have a better marketing department than your average diploma. Sure, their established programs are good (law, medicine, business, film). But good God, everything else seems like a scam to separate you from your money. Don't be a guinea pig for this program's maiden year. 

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
On 11/5/2016 at 8:33 AM, marmle said:

Nobody knows the chances of anyone getting accepted to NYU's Data Science PhD considering this is the first year they're accepting students.

Oh, that explains it ... Thanks for the info.