How to ask for a volunteering position in a resreach lab when you're not exactly interested in the resreach topic?

JustHopefulMe

Question

Hi everyone.

Hope you are all doing well with your applications :)

I am a non-degree seeking student at this Research University looking for research positions. I actually started a PhD program last fall at this same institution but had to take medical leave (then eventually got kicked out because my condition didn't imporove within the timeframe they gave me. True story).

I decided to buy time by applying to the MS program at this same university, only to be told by the program director that if I don't find a research lab wiling to take me into their group, he will not be able to offer me admission to the MS program either.

My plan is now just to leave the place and look for somewhere else and start fresh. However, given my credentials (I have 2 really bad grades on my transcript, to which my medical condition has contributed a lot. All other grades are either an A or A-, though), I cannot guarantee that I'll be accepted at a new place. To improve my CV and possibly my chances of admission, I decided to volunteer in any lab at my current institution to gain some more research experience and also prove myself to the faculty here, so that If I don't get accepted at another university, I can discuss the potential of me staying here as an officially admitted MS (or hopefully PhD) student.