PhD or Master's??

annavievett

Question

Hey there, first timer here. 

Current Major: Psychology; also, working on getting BaCaba certified as a behavioral therapist

MA prospects: Education, Business or Engineering (only because Im really good at math and its a hot field - not my passion whatsoever)

PhD prospects: Clinical or School of Psychology - MB other fields of psych or education if it pertains to a career in child development (0 - 18)

Location of interests (if I have to move): Florida or California; if stipend included - almost anywhere in US.

I am a semi-young single mother with two toddler girls. I am going to be getting my BA by the end of next year, MB summer - we'll see. I use to work full-time and go to school FT but I realized in two years that I was throwing away my memories and development of my children, so I will be working PT (point: not a lot of money for school). I work as an intern/volunteer at a ABA training company, and will be studying for my GRE test over the summer. I would prefer to get my PhD and skip my Masters. But, I am afraid that if I try too hard to get into specific schools and neglect the fact I might not get in, Ill miss my chance into getting into a great MA program. If I take my MA, I likely won't be going back to school for my PhD until my kids are much older. 

My main Q: How hard is it to get into a fully paid PhD program? Do you know of any programs or any schools that would fit my degree prospects? Is it worth it going straight into a PhD program rather then taking the MA? Is the financial increase abundant enough to make that leap? What is the difference between PhD and PsyD programs?

Anything, any advice, criticism, corrections, links, resources, references, etc. would be extremely helpful. I have started looking into Nova Southeastern University (extremely hard to get into) for the PhD or PsyD programs, and have found a couple interesting universities (haven't looked into thoroughly) in San Diego, CA.