Discrepancy Between Overall and Major GPA

Fiora

I am majoring in electrical engineering at a public university ranked in the top 50 nationally, and plan on applying to graduate school next academic year (Fall 2017). It should be noted that I am only interested in Master's programs, and not a PhD. So far the only real concern I have is regarding my GPA, which is comfortably above a 3.0 but certainly nowhere near where I would like it to be. On the other hand, my GPA in upper division electrical engineering courses (which I understand are the most relevant courses for grad admissions) is significantly higher than my overall GPA.

For what it's worth, I have been thinking of ways to counteract this weakness in my application. I already have good GRE scores (164 V, 166 Q, 5.5 AWA) and obtained a paid research fellowship last summer, through which I am confident I can get 2 strong recommendation letters (both from accomplished EECS faculty members) as I have also continued the research work through the school year. Would it be a good idea to ask my recommenders to point out that my performance in upper division courses in my major is significantly better? I am also open to other suggestions you may have as to how else I can improve my chances for admission. Thanks in advance for your time!