Anyone here has been in a similar situation?

Adelaide9216

Hello,

a few years ago, I disclosed publicly my past struggles with mental health and my journey towards recovery. Ever since, I kept doing talks, media interviews and such on the topic. I have also won major community awards which led me to speak even more about my story. However, I am also a social work student. Although I have received tremendous amount of support for my commitment to fight stigma both from my peers and my school of social work, I am hesitant to work as a social worker in a clinical setting because I could potentially encounter clients that might have seen me speak about this online or on tv. I had anticipated that this could happen - it took me 5+ years to decide to share publicly my story, and I have received a lot of advice from people who have made similar choices. I never had a client of mine either at stage or in a field placement who has brought this up to me, but I know that this will probably happen and I am unsure how to handle it, other than turning back the question to them and their concerns and not make the therapeutic alliance about me. Has anyone here been in a similar position?

Edited by Adelaide9216

I also met with the people of my professional order recently for an interview for the newsletter they send to their members. I was surprised by how supportive they were of my choice and my extracurricular activities. They said they like the new generation of social workers like me, who are thinking outside the box, and that it is refreshing.

Hi Adelaide9216!