...where do I even start?

RDG1836

Question

I suspect I'm far from the first to ask this, but now I'm seriously wanting to pursue grad school. At first I was very wishy-washy about it, but now it's almost a main priority.

So background: I graduated from undergrad almost a year ago. Been in and out of different jobs and unable to find any satisfaction with the way things are going. Grad school is always something I told myself I would do, and now I'm feeling like the time is becoming right to finally pursue it. I'm wanting to do some version of American History, despite my undergrad being in the arts. I have a 3.89/4.00 GPA.

My question is: where the heck do I start? I've begun compiling a list of universities I want to attend and studying vocab words for the GRE exam, but I feel like I could perfect those things and still not know where the heck to go next.

Does anyone have any advice in that regard? I'm a little overwhelmed with everything and I'm looking for just a bit more clarity before proceeding.

Thanks guys!

3 answers to this question

Hi there! 

Because I was in a similar position to you (background in the arts, going into history for grad school) I thought I'd offer some advice. 

While the GRE is an important step, you'll want to focus most of your attention on your Statement of Purpose and your writing sample. These are the meat of your application, so to speak, and are definitely what gets the most attention! Also, you'll want to consider which of your former professors might be willing/able to write you letters of recommendation! I got professors from varying depts to write mine, rather than just going with the history professors I had worked with. 

When I was writing my SOP, I focused a lot on the type of research I wanted to do, and what I planned on doing after grad school, as well as which professors I might like to work with. I also got about ten different people to read over it for me.