USC Electrical Engineering

nh88

With several people (including myself) having received admission into the Electrical Engineering PhD program at USC, I thought I would start up a discussion about this school. I would like to focus this discussion upon the quality of the graduate program in Electrical Engineering at USC. For your reference, I would be in the Systems side of things.

I would appreciate the input of those who have already visited the school, or are familiar with the school. If there are those of you who are already enrolled in the PhD program, I would particularly appreciate your feedback.

As an international student, I hadn't heard of USC prior to beginning the admission process. I was first introduced to the program by one of my current Professors who is an alumni and has gone on to do many important things within the Wireless Communications field. From there, I took a look at several rankings and realized that this is indeed a highly ranked program. At the same time, it doesn't register on other rankings. Do I have reason for concern? Within California, how does USC compare with the other prominent schools like Stanford, Berkeley, and UCLA?

One of the things that I have observed about USC is that it seems like there is no shortage of research funding. As a prospective PhD student, this is an obvious plus. I would imagine that available funding translates into many research opportunities.

Another observation that I have made is that the faculty seem very well qualified with many IEEE Fellows and the like. I would like to attend an institution where the faculty are well respected, which would certainly help me in my own studies. I would appreciate someone commenting on this point.