Canadian Study Permit - Proof of Funds

The official website says that for the study permit the minimum amount I need to prove as a single student is "tuition plus $10,000 for a 12-month period".

Now, here's where I am a little confused, because the wording is a bit unclear: if my program is a 2-year program (24 months), does that mean I actually need to show that I have tuition +$20,000, covering my entire stay in Canada? Or just $10,000 for the first year, regardless of how long the program is?

Note: I am not an expert in this, so you should definitely consult an official at Immigration Canada.

I believe you only need to show proof of funding for the first year, not the entire length of degree. See http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/resources/tools/temp/students/evaluation.asp

Under "Financial Sufficiency", it says, "Students are required to demonstrate financial sufficiency for only the first year of studies, regardless of the duration of the course or program of studies in which they are enrolled."

This is similar to requirements for international students to the US. Of course, having more in the statement would help.

• 2 weeks later...

So, I have another question regarding the study permits: if I am funded by my university, is it enough to include the acceptance letter I received (with the general funding package outlined) with my visa application, or does there need to be some other type of document that proves I will be getting money from the school?

Tuition plus $10,000? Does that mean proof you can pay the tuition and then that you will receive/have $10,000 on top of that? My funding (TAship) covers my tuition, but doesn't stretch to $10,000 after that. The above linked site (cheers @TakeruK) says 'In other words, a single student entering a four-year degree program with an annual tuition fee of $15,000 must demonstrate funds of $15,000 to satisfy the requirements'. Not sure where this extra $10,000 is coming from.