Ecology/Biology Post Baccalaureate

anberry15

My goal is to earn a PhD in Marine Ecology but I don't have very much background in it or any research experience. I graduated from the Naval Academy 2 years ago with a BS in General Science (Biology/Ecology were not offered majors). Does anyone have any advice/know of any programs that could get me more research experience in biology/ecology to make me more competitive? Thanks!

Seasonal field assistant/technician jobs are great for post-bac experience. The paid positions are easier to get if you have some relevant experience, but if you apply for a bunch and/or know someone connected to one then you can still get one. There are also volunteer/internship positions that usually expect less experience, if you can afford that.

I worked a couple in the year between undergrad and grad school. I gained a bunch of skills so that I could hit the ground running with my grad school research. 

The TAMU job board is a nice resource for finding these positions: http://wfscjobs.tamu.edu/job-board/

Edited by Pitangus

• 3 weeks later...

I had a great experience as a post-bacc student in Oregon State University's Fisheries and Wildlife program. My focus was terrestrial ecology, but I had post-bacc friends that focused in marine. One interned at Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, the other is doing monk seal research in Hawaii, and another has a permanent gig as a wildlife biologist in Florida (kind of rare without a master's). Most students spend a term out at Hatfield Marine Science Center on the Oregon coast (located in the same town as NOAA's Marine Operations Center). OSU also has the Marine Mammal Institute (http://mmi.oregonstate.edu/).