Writing Sample Woes

So, quick background: my undergraduate institution didn't have a linguistics department, so I designed my own major. I was able to take some bona fide linguistics courses (masters level) when I studied abroad, and will be attending the LSA Institute this summer to bolster my experience.

I'll be applying to graduate programs in linguistics this fall. My major concern at the moment is my writing sample. My undergraduate institution was a liberal arts college with very little research opportunity. My most well-received paper in undergrad was an term paper for an English class on Ulysses. The paper is all about Joyce's language, but it's sort of pseudolinguistics in the sense that it's not rigorously researched or cited (it's an English paper using a linguistics framework to back up a point about the novel.) I think the paper is conceptually solid, interesting and well-written, and gives a good sense of how I think. But I'm afraid that using it as a writing sample may backfire on me if it's too uncomfortably close to linguistics without actually being a linguistics paper.

I know many people apply without a specifically Linguistics background and have to make do with only semi-relevant writing samples. Anyone who has experience with applying from outside the field and/or picking a writing sample, do you think that this one is a risky choice?