PhD in neuroscience - clueless international student

Meitarg

Hey everybody!

so i'm starting to get nervous about applications.... I'm an international student so I don't really know who i'm competing against (experience-wise).

currently finishing my B.Sc.  in biology+psychology+emphasis in neuroscience (so I have a lot of neuro courses in my resume). GPA around 3.7-3.8.  

but I'm not sure if my lab experience is good enough - one biology and one psychobiology projects. my degree is only 3 years (not 4 like american undergrads), so i won't have time for another lab experience before applications' deadlines. 

took the GRE a couple of days ago, so i don't have the AW score yet, but the quant and verbal were 161 and 160. I could definitely score higher on the quant so i'm considering retaking the exam (though it will be only in October.... cutting it close to deadlines). 

My aim is to get accepted to a PhD in the biology-oriented neuroscience (molecular etc.), and of course the dream is in NYC. 

applying to Columbia, NYU, Weill Cornell and CUNY (as a safe choice). 

Are my chances good? should I consider more schools? and if so- any recommendations?

Thank you!!

• 5 months later...

Hello,

I am an international student as well but received my master from CUNY in Nutrition and Exercise Sciences. I am currently a first year PhD student in Exercise Physiology. You are obviously ahead of me as you got your bachelors  in biology+psychology+emphasis in neuroscience.