What Tier Schools Should I be Focused on (organic)?

boulderboi

I am in the middle of my application process (taking the GRE on monday) and will be focusing on really digging into schools come next week.

My questions are around which schools, based on your experience, may except someone with my qualifications. I have been getting a lot of mixed messages from managers/professors and wanted some different points of view. My manager has been telling me he thinks I might be able to get into schools like stanford or Berekely while my undergraduate advisor suggested I focus on some of my other choices (CU boulder, Univeristy of washington) and that higher tier schools would be out of my reach.

First, a little background on me. I graduated two years ago from a small liberal arts school (not top tier) with my BS in biochemistry. During my undergraduate program I did a summer and two semesters of research in organocatalysis. After graduating I got a job as a research associate at a small biotech company in the bay area. My current position is also very heavily research focussed and, by the time I start grad school, I will have been working there for two years. My manager and the VP of chemistry are going to be two of my letters of recomendation and they think very highly of me.

My GRE score is most likely going to be somewhere around V:155 Q:162 based on the practice tests I have taken. My under graduate GPA was a 3.5 and slightly lower in my major (DAMN CALCULUS SERIES!).

I would really appreciate hearing from anyone who applied to graduate school with a similar background as me. What schools did you apply to and which did you get accepted to? what should some of my reach schools be? How important are GRE general and chemistry subject scores?

• 4 weeks later...