What Should I Do?

jrizzo15

Question

I was a New York City Teaching Fellow, and as part of my fellowship I received a Masters in Special Education this past May from Long Island University - Brooklyn. My GPA throughout my two year masters program was a 4.0. For my undergraduate studies, I majored in History, and graduated with a 3.7 overall GPA, and a 3.94 GPA regarding my major. 

Since receiving my masters, I have been researching possible PhD programs to continue my own education however I don't know which program would make most sense for me. The University of Kansas has a number of stellar education based PhD programs, and most of them interest me a great deal. In particular I find myself drawn to their Educational Psychology Program. I feel my experience as a special education teacher in New York City and as a graduate student can help ensure some form of success in that program and field. 

A major problem holding me back is that my experience with psychology amounts merely to understanding the broad concepts purported by Piaget and Vygotsky. That and I am worried that my teaching experience will not actually help me at all. Part of me just wants to go for it regardless, especially since I am only 24, but another part of me wants to be rationale about the decision as to not waste time, money or energy when I can be pursuing a program more suited to my current skill set of being a teacher. 

Essentially, what should I do? Am I just looking into the wrong program? It's a broad question and I apologize if this is too presumptuous of me to even ask, however I would greatly appreciated any and all opinions as I am quite lost on this matter.

1 answer to this question