FREAKING out about incorrect refund amount

wisdomspeaks

The student accounts office is going to give me a heart attack, man, I swear. So here is my situation:

I receive a full tuition waiver, a medical insurance waiver, and an annual stipend via my fellowship. On top of these funds, I requested a loan to help cover living expenses. I am responsible for paying student fees and I know the exact cost of each fee. I was able to calculate my refund amount ahead of time so I could budget for the semester. I usually receive both my loan and stipend in one huge lump sum, right? Tonight I checked my student account and my refund had been posted. I was missing almost $5k from my refund. I am a doctoral student. I typically charge a bunch of shit to my credit card during the summer because I know I can pay it off in the fall when I receive my stipend. My wife and I just don't make enough money to cover our bills when all we have is my research assistantship sans the financial aid. I need the full amount of the refund or I will be screwed.

I am thinking maybe it was a mistake because it seems that my entire stipend is missing. The refund amount matches the loan amount exactly. However, I have a lot of mental health problems and this is driving me up the wall because I am afraid of not receiving the money I was expecting and I cannot do anything to resolve it at 2 am. I know this is irrational and absurd. I am entitled to this refund and they can't take it away from me lol. I think I might need some emotional support to calm my ass down. I apologize for the cursing. That's just how I talk, so if it bothers anyone let me know.

Has anyone experienced this issue? What did you do? Should I be worried? Honestly, I just want to feel less alone in my financial struggles.

Thanks for reading.

--Allison