Molecular Biology/Biomedical Sciences PhD programs that are international student friendly?

factanonverba

Hi guys,

I am applying to PhD programs soon for the 2018 fall cycle (molecular biology/biological & biomedical sciences); I am wondering if any of you have insight as to which programs admit more international students than others. I am a fairly competitive applicant: 3.87 GPA from a top US public university, 1 year of undergrad research + 2 years of post bac research, a couple of papers (I was the primary author on one of them), honors thesis, strong letters of rec, GRE 166V 170Q 4.5AW, dean's list, etc. However, I am an international student and it seems like most US PhD programs in my field take very few of us. For example, according to the UW MCB program admissions office, they admit 0.5 international students/year, so programs like this are probably not even worth applying to because the odds are so slim and it probably also reflects limited resources for us.

What are some good programs that are more international student friendly? For example, looking at the Harvard BBS website, they currently have 254 domestic and 84 international students, so that would perhaps be a good choice.

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks!

While admission percentage may give you some indication on how likely would a program accepts international student, your best choice should still be based on the number of faculties whose research interest you the most. General rule of thumb is to apply to a program where they have at least 3 labs that do research interest you, regardless of the "tier". Obviously, top tier programs are most competitive when it comes to admission. You can ask your LOR / PI to evaluate whether they think you are competitive for those programs, but keep in mind that your "fitness" to a particular program plays a huge role for admission committee.