MA vs. PhD

Are PhD programs less inclined to accept applicants who only have their BA, no master's degree? Are BAs generally supposed to apply to master's programs?

Yes and no. Some schools prefer students with MAs, some prefer BAs. A lot of people with BAs apply directly to PhDs, and many apply to a mix of both. But BAs certainly aren't "supposed" to only apply to MA programs.

Are PhD programs less inclined to accept applicants who only have their BA, no master's degree? Are BAs generally supposed to apply to master's programs?

This is a really contentious topic in English (I presume you're talking about English; my apologies if not). I realize there are people with strong opinions on both sides of the issue and I'm not experienced enough yet in academe to give you my own opinion on the matter. But I will tell you my own experience: my undergrad mentors *strongly* advised against me getting a masters before applying to the PhD (or rather, an MA/PhD program). There are people who will tell you that their MAs are exactly the thing that got them into their dream programs, and I have no doubt that this is absolutely true in many cases. Still, the professionals I know and trust told me that it would be much harder to get into a PhD program with an MA. Personally I have had decent success this season without an MA. Would I have done better with one? I don't know.

This is just one side of the debate, and I'm not trying to inflame anyone. As I said I really have no idea either way at this point. I, personally, have just been advised against pursuing an MA first.

Edited by Pamphilia